diane von furstenberg, vintage

from the huffington post interview:

“Was your intention to draw out sexuality in women?

No. I’ve always been inspired by women, and my mission was to inspire women. I always wanted to become a certain kind of woman and I became that woman through fashion. It was a dialogue. I would see that the wrap dress made those women confident, and made them act with confidence.

When you say you always wanted to be a certain kind of woman, what does that mean?

An independent woman.”

“Did you model yourself after anyone?

I never modeled myself after anyone. The person who had most influence on me was my mother, but it was really for her strength and courage more than her style, even though she had a lot of style. In a weird way, looking at pictures of me when I was 17 or 18, I was dressing the same way. I haven’t changed very much.”

“Do you think that personal style is a professional asset?

Yes. But it doesn’t just have to do with your appearance. It’s your character too: Who you are, how you present yourself, how honest you are. It’s your voice, the way you speak, the way you write. All of it makes you; therefore, you have a style.”

Leave a Reply

